User Name: Password:      Register - Lost password?

Forex News Blog
Back to The Headlines
Tuesday February 25, 2014 - 11:06:46 GMT
Trade the News Staff - www.global-view.com/forex-services/TTN/

Share This Story:
| | Email

TradeTheNews.com EU Market Update: Equities markets generally weaker, as Shanghai selloff continued

TradeTheNews.com EU Market Update: Equities markets generally weaker, as Shanghai selloff continued
Tue, 25 Feb 2014 5:23 AM EST

***Notes/Observations***
-Chinese yuan has largest 1-day decline since late 2008 amid speculation that officials are seeking to make the currency less of a one-way bet
-Shanghai Composite declined almost 4% in 2 sessions amid property market concerns; PBoC continues to drain liquidity
-Turkish assets decline on political concerns
- Portuguese bonds outperform following buyback announcement
-UK Jan mortgage approvals hit highest level since Sept 2007

***Economic Data***
- (UK) JAN BBA LOANS FOR HOUSE PURCHASE: 49.9K V 47.2KE (highest level since Sept 2007)
- (DE) GERMANY Q4 PRIVATE CONSUMPTION Q/Q: -0.1% V -0.1%E; GOVERNMENT SPENDING Q/Q: 0.0% V 0.2%E
- (FR) FRANCE FEB BUSINESS CONFIDENCE: 94 V 95E; MANUFACTURING CONFIDENCE: 100 V 100E
- (DE) GERMANY Q4 FINAL GDP Q/Q: 0.4% V 0.4%E; Y/Y: 1.3% V 1.3%E; GDP WDA Y/Y: 1.4% V 1.4%E
- (ES) SPAIN JAN PPI M/M: -1.3% V 1.1% PRIOR; Y/Y: -1.8% V 0.6% PRIOR

Fixed Income:
-(IT) ITALY DEBT AGENCY (TESORO) SELLS TOTAL 3.5B VS. 2.5-3.5B INDICATED RANGE IN CTZ AND I/L BTP BONDS
(ZA) South Africa sells total ZAR2.35B in 2030, 2037 and 2048 Bonds
(ES) SPAIN DEBT AGENCY (TESORO) SELLS TOTAL 3.06B VS. 3.0B INDICATED RANGE IN 3-MONTH AND 9-MONTH BILLS
- Sells 890M in 3-month Bills; Avg Yield 0.170% v 0.343% prior; Bid-to-cover: 3.75x v 5.23x prior; Tail: 1.9bps v 0.7bps prior
- Sells 2.17B in 9-month Bills; Avg Yield 0.457% v 0.655% prior; Bid-to-cover: 2.39x v 2.23x prior; Tail: 1.3bps v 1.5bps prior
(NO) Norway sells NOK4.0B in 2023 bonds; Yield 2.89%
-(EU) ESM to sell 6.0B in 7-yr bonds; final spread midswaps +7bps

*** SPEAKERS/FIXED INCOME/FX/COMMODITIES/ERRATUM ***
***Equities**

Indices [Stoxx50 -0.3%, FTSE 100 -0.6% at 6,826, CAC-40 -0.4% at 4,399, IBEX-35 +0.1% 10,209, FTSE MIB -0.3% at 20,407, SMI -0.2% at 8,472, S&P 500 Futures -0.2% at 1,842]

Market Focal Points: Equities markets open mostly lower following negative leads from China and mixed earnings, BASF reports in line results, Moncler declines despite rise in profits and sales, Vivendi lower on weaker than expected sales

By Sector
Consumer Discretionary [Straumann [STMN.CH +2% (FY results above ests), Beiersdorf BEI.DE +2% (broker commentary)]
Telecom [Vivendi VIV.FR -2% (FY sales below ests, evaluating dividend)]
Industrials [Duerr DUE.DE -5% (FY sales below ests), GKN GKN.UK -3% (FY profits declined), BASF BAS.DE -0.5% (Q4 results in line); Oerlikon OERL.CH +2% (raised dividend), CRH CRH.UK +2% (positive comments regarding 2014)]
Healthcare [Fresenius Medical Care FME.DE -6% (cautious outlook)]
Technology [XING O1BC.DE +5% (declared special dividend); Aixtron AIXA.DE -4% (Q4 results below ests)]
Financials [St. James Place STJ.UK +2.5% (raised dividend); Ashmore Group ASHM.UK -7% (H1 AUM declined amid outflows)]
Stoxx50 sectors [Telecom -1.8%, Technology -0.9%, Basic Materials -0.9%, Consumer Cyclical -0.4% Financials -0.2%,Energy -0.1%; Industrials +0.3%, Consumer Non-Cyclical flat]

Speakers:
Bank of Korea official: Emerging markets more resilient to external shocks; Expects for South Korea to have a higher inflation path in 2014.
France Ind Min Montebourg: ECB not respecting inflation target, reiterates EUR strength is absurd
Russia Foreign Min Lavrov: No plans to intervene in Ukraine; Wants West to adopt non-intervention approach in Ukraine
UK DMO chief Stheeman: New bank capital and derivative rules on liquidity markets have not yet hurt cash Gilt market
BOEs McCafferty: Would be concerned if GBP rises further, BOE would then need to consider its strength when setting future monetary policy; Current Sterling level not a major problem for UK exports

Currencies/Fixed Income:
- EUR/USD remained quiet as Q4 German GDP data was confirmed, private consumption data was mixed but was no worrisome enough to move the euro off its 15 pip range, right near the middle of that range 1.3738 is where it keeps bouncing and could prove to be a pivot from the range of the last 5 days . Later in the US session there are several key economic indicators that could push the pair through next support/resistance.

- GBP/USD crept higher in the day testing 1.6684 ahead of economic indicator BBA loans for house purchases. After BBA, saw the pair rise to fresh session highs around 1.6688. Like the euro the Sterling is staying in a smaller range, bottom at 1.6646. Head and shoulders look to be forming, with the bottom of the shoulder starting on Feb 24th on the hourly chart, if the pattern continues we should see some weakness to form the second half of the head and final shoulder.

- Russia made the 50th adjustment to its floating Ruble corridor by 5 kopecks to 35.05-42.05 in dollar/euro basket. Ukraine's hryvnia lost an additional 3% from Monday session to 9.45.

- Early in the Swissie gained 0.3% early in the session in approx. a 30 pip range bottoming out at 0.8864.

Political/In the Papers:
(HK) 2013 Hong Kong GDP was about 3%; Govt to unveil plan for $2.58B in fiscal relief measures for FY14/15
(EU) ECB's Praet: Reiterates sees no risk of deflation
(PT) ESM's Regling: Portugal may not need a precautionary credit line
(UR) Ukraine Parliament delays govt formation until Thu Feb 27th

**Looking Ahead***
6:00EST/11:00GMT UK Feb CBI Reported Sales
6:00EST/11:00GMT Brazil Feb FGV Construction Costs
6:00EST/11:00GMT Norway to sell Bonds 07:00EST/12:00GMT ECB allotment in 7-Day Term Deposit Tender to offset bond purchases in SMP program 09:30EST/14:30GMT ECB calls for bids in 3-Month Refinancing Tender-
7:45EST/12:45GMT ICSC/UBSW Chain Store Sales- 08:30EST/13:30GMT Canada Q4 Corporate Profits
8:55EST/13:55GMT US Redbook Retail Sales
9:00EST/14:00GMT US Dec House Price Index
9:00EST/14:00GMT US Dec S&P/CS 20 City; S&P/CS Composite-20; S&P/CaseShiller Home Price Index; S&P/CaseShiller US HPI
9:00EST/14:00GMT Mexico Dec Retail Sales
10:00EST/15:00GMT US Feb Consumer Confidence Index
10:00EST/15:00GMT Mexico Q4 Current Account Balance
10:00EST/15:00GMT US Feb Richmond Fed Manufacturing Index
10:10EST/13:10GMT Federal Reserve Board Governor Tarullo speaks on "A View From the Fed" before the National Association for Business Economics 30th Annual Economic Policy Conference
10:30EDT/15:30GMT US Dallas Fed Feb Texas Service Sector Outlook Survey
11:30EST/16:30GMT US Treasury's 4 Week Bill Auction
13:00EST/18:00GMT US Treasury's 2 Year Note Auction
14:00EST/19:00GMT US Fed Discount Rate Minutes
15:45EST/20:45GMT Federal Reserve Bank of New York President William Dudley speaks at the 10th Asia-Pacific High Level Meeting on Bank Supervision in Aukland, New Zealand
16:30EST/21:30GMT API Crude Oil/Gasoline/Distillate InventoriesTBD Brazil Jan Federal Debt Total

 

 

 

Forex Trading News

Forex Research

Daily Forex Market News
Forex news reports can be found on the forex research headlines page below. Here you will find real-time forex market news reports provided by respected contributors of currency trading information. Daily forex market news, weekly forex research and monthly forex news features can be found here.

Forex News
Real-time forex market news reports and features providing other currency trading information can be accessed by clicking on any of the headlines below. At the top of the forex blog page you will find the latest forex trading information. Scroll down the page if you are looking for less recent currency trading information. Scroll to the bottom of fx blog headlines and click on the link for past reports on forex. Currency world news reports from previous years can be found on the left sidebar under "FX Archives."



Elevate Your Trading With The Amazing Trader!

The Amazing Trader includes:
  • Actionable trading levels delivered to YOUR charts in real-time.
  • Live trading strategy sessions.
  • Market Updates with Trading Tools.

Register To Test Your Amazing Trader


Trading Ideas for 21 November 2017

Register for the Amazing Trader

1.

Amazing Trader EVENT RISK Calendar:


Tue 21 Nov
15:00 US- Existing Homes Sales
23:00 US- Yellen Speech
Wed 22 Nov
13:30 US- Weekly Jobless
13:30 US- Durable Goods
15:00 US- final University of Michigan Survey
15:30 US- EIA Crude
19:00 US- FOMC Minutes
Thu 23 Nov
US/JP- Holiday
All Day flash PMIs
13:30 CA- Retail Sales
Fri 24 Nov
All Day flash PMIs
09:00 DE- IFO Survey
US- Early Closes

Forex Trading Outlook


Potential Trading Opportunities


  • POTENTIAL PRICE RISK: HIGH Mon -- 14:00 GMT EZ- Draghi speaks in Brussels. Looking for any policy hints or bias


  • POTENTIAL PRICE RISK: HIGH Tue -- 13:30 GMT US- Existing Homes Sales. Top Housing Statistic

  • POTENTIAL PRICE RISK: HIGH Tue -- 23:30 GMT US- Yellen Speech. Early evening. Looking for anything on policy


  • POTENTIAL PRICE RISK: Medium Wed -- 13:30 GMT US- Weekly Jobless, Durable Goods
  • POTENTIAL PRICE RISK: Medium Wed -- 15:00 GMT US- final University of Michigan Survey
  • POTENTIAL PRICE RISK: Medium Wed -- 15:30 GMT US- EIA Crude
  • POTENTIAL PRICE RISK: HIGH Wed -- 19:00 GMT US- FOMC Policy Minutes. Key policy release


John M. Bland, MBA
co-founding Partner, Global-View.com

EXCLUSIVE: Global-View Daily Trading Chart Points Updated

EXCLUSIVE: Global-View Free Forex Database updated




TRADER ADVOCACY ARTICLES

Trader's Advocate Articles..

pic

Retail Forex Brokerage Changing!

Are you looking for your first broker or do you need of a new one? There are more critical things to consider than you might have thought.

We were trading long before there were online brokers. Global-View has been directly involved with the industry since its infancy. We've seen everything and are up-to-data with recent regulatory changes.

Our Best Brokers listing section includes:Forex Broker Reviews, Forex Broker Directory, Forex Broker Comparisons and advice on How to Choose a Forex Broker

If would like guidance, advice, or have any concerns at all ASK US. We are here to help you.

SEE Our Best Brokers List

Currency Trading Tools

  • Live rates, currency news, fx charts. 

  • Research reports and currency forecasts.

  • Foreign Exchange database and history.

  • Weekly economic calendar.

Directory of  Forex trading tools

 
Terms of Use    Disclaimer    Privacy Policy    Contact    Site Map


Forex Forum
Forex Trading Forum
Forex Forum + forex rates
Forex Forum Archives
Forex Forum RSS
Free Registration

Trading Forums
Currency Forum Guide
Forum Directory
Open Forum
Futures Forum
Political Forum
Forex Brokers
Compare Forex Brokers
Forex Broker News
Forex Broker Hotline

Online Forex Trading
Forex Trading Tools
Currency Trading Tools
Forex Database
FX Chart Points
Risk/Carry Trade Chart Points
Economic Calendar
Quicklinks to Economic Data
Currency Futures Swaps
Fibonacci Calculator
Currency Futures Calculator

Forex Education
Forex Learning Center
FX Trading Basics Course
Forex Trading Course
Forex Trading Handbook

Forex Analysis
Forex Forecasts
Interest Rate Forecasts
Central Bank Forecasts

FX Charts and Quotes
Live FX Rates
Live Global Market Quotes
Live Forex Charts
US Dollar Index Chart
Global Chart Gallery
Daily Market Tracker
Forex News
Forex Blog
Forex News
Forex Blog Archives
Forex News RSS
Forex Services
Forex Products
GVI Forex
Free Trials
FX Bookstore
FX Jobs and Careers
Jobs USA
Jobs UK
Jobs Canada

Forex Forum

The Global-View Forex Forum is the hub for currency trading on the web. Founded in 1996, it was the original forex forum and is still the place where forex traders around the globe come 24/7 looking for currency trading ideas, breaking forex news, fx trading rumors, fx flows and more. This is where you can find a full suite of forex trading tools, including a complete fx database, forex chart points, live currency rates, and live fx charts. In addition, there is a forex brokers directory where you can compare forex brokers. There is also a forex brokers hotline where you can ask for help choosing a forex broker that meets your individual fx trading needs. Interact on the same venue to discuss forex trading.

Forex News

The forex forum is where traders come to discuss the forex market. It is one of the few places where forex traders of all levels of experience, from novice to professionals, interact on the same venue to discuss forex trading. There is also the GVI Forex, which is a private subscription service where professional and experienced currency traders meet in a private forex forum. it is like a virtual forex trading room. This is open to forex traders of all levels of experience to view but only experienced currency tradingprofessionals can post.

Currency Trading

Currency trading charts are updated daily using the forex trading ranges posted in the Global-View forex database. You will also find technical indicators on the fx trading charts, e.g. moving averages for currencies such as the EURUSD. This is another forex trading tool provided by Global-View.com.

Forex Brokers

The forex database can be used to access high, low, close daily forex ranges for key currency pairs, such as the EURUSD, USDJPY, USDCHF, GBPUSD, USDCAD, AUD, NZD and major crosses, including EURJPY, EURGBP, EURCHF, GBPJPY, GBPCHF and CHFJPY. Data for these currency trading pairs dating back to January 1, 1999 can be downloaded to an Excel spreadsheet.

Forex Trading

Forex chart points are in a currency trading table that includes; latest fx tradinghigh-low-close range, Bollinger Bands, Fibonacci retracement levels, daily forex pivot points support and resistance levels, average daily forex range, MACD for the different currency trading pairs. You can look on the forex forum for updates when one of the fx trading tools is updated.

FX Trading

Global-View also offers a full fx trading chart gallery that includes fx pairs, such as the EURUSD, commodities, stocks and bonds. In a fx trading world where markets are integrated, the chart gallery is a valuable trading tool. Look for updates on the Forex Forum when the chart gallery is updated.

Forex Blog

Global-View.com also offers a forex blog, where articles of interest for currency trading are posted throughout the day. The forex blog articles come from outside sources, including forex brokers research as well as from the professionals at Global-View.com. This forex blog includes the Daily Forex View, Market Chatter and technical forex blog updates. In additional to its real time forex forum, there are also Member Forums available for more in depth forex trading discussions.

 

WARNING: FOREIGN EXCHANGE TRADING AND INVESTMENT IN DERIVATIVES CAN BE VERY SPECULATIVE AND MAY RESULT IN LOSSES AS WELL AS PROFITS. FOREIGN EXCHANGE AND DERIVATIVES TRADING IS NOT SUITABLE FOR MANY MEMBERS OF THE PUBLIC AND ONLY RISK CAPITAL SHOULD BE APPLIED. THE WEBSITE DOES NOT TAKE INTO ACCOUNT SPECIAL INVESTMENT GOALS, THE FINANCIAL SITUATION OR SPECIFIC REQUIREMENTS OF INDIVIDUAL USERS. YOU SHOULD CAREFULLY CONSIDER YOUR FINANCIAL SITUATION AND CONSULT YOUR FINANCIAL ADVISORS AS TO THE SUITABILITY TO YOUR SITUATION PRIOR TO MAKING ANY INVESTMENT OR ENTERING INTO ANY TRANSACTIONS.

Copyright ©1996-2014 Global-View. All Rights Reserved.
Hosting and Development by Blue 105